Having to hire a Phoenix DUI lawyer is never a pleasant experience, and the best way to avoid having to deal with it is to avoid getting a DUI entirely. If you’re aware of Arizona DUI laws, you’ll be more likely to keep yourself out of trouble. If nothing else, knowing the laws will help you better prepare your legal case when you have been charged with a DUI.
As with other states throughout the U.S., Arizona has a legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit of 0.08%. Commercial drivers in Phoenix have a BAC limit of 0.04% under Arizona law. Because the state is very strict when it comes to driving while intoxicated, here are 3 DUI laws you must know about:
- Zero Tolerance for Minors. Phoenix doesn’t mess around with minors. If convicted of a DUI, drivers under the age of 21 are immediately given a license suspension that can extend for up to two years. This is in addition to fines and potential jail time.
- Ignition Interlock Devices. In order to discourage repeat offenses, anyone convicted of a DUI can be subject to having an immobilizer placed in their vehicle. This breath tester will prevent the car from starting until a test is performed to guarantee that the driver is sober. This is typically reserved for extreme DUIs and multiple-time offenders, but can be ordered in any DUI case.
- Mandatory Jail Time. Phoenix drivers who are convicted of a DUI will spend at least 10 days in jail. Each subsequent DUI can result in a minimum of 90 days in jail. This is in addition to fines, community service and other penalties that may be incurred. There’s no way around it – if you’re caught driving while intoxicated, you’re going to jail.
If you’ve been involved in a DUI arrest, you need to contact a Phoenix DUI lawyer (and the sooner, the better). The state of Arizona is serious about drinking and driving, and prosecutors will do whatever it takes to dissuade people from breaking the law, including meting out the harsh penalties listed above. While those who are multiple offenders will generally have much more serious consequences for their DUI charges, even first-time offenders can face drastic punishment.
Having a Phoenix DUI lawyer on your side will give you a better fighting chance and understand exactly what you are facing. Phoenix DUI laws are strictly enforced, but the right legal support can make all the difference in the outcome of your case. For an experienced DUI attorney, call the Law Offices of David A. Black for a free consultation today at (480) 280-8028.